National Poetry Writing Month

Ever one for a challenge I decided that it was time to start catching up with NaPoWriMo – writing a poem a day for the month of April. Okay, since it’s already April 17th that would be 2 poems a day for me (and then some) – but I work well under pressure.

I discovered NaPoWriMo last year and “sort of” participated, which is probably what will happen this year too. But that is the great thing about writing and blogging and internet prompts – there’s truly no end to what one can do with a bit of inspiration and structure, which are easily offered by a simple click of your search function.

So here’s the Day One prompt – “write a poem that involves describing something in terms of what it is not, or not like. For example, if you chose a whale as the topic of your poem, you might have lines like “It does not settle down in trees at night, cooing/Nor will it fit in your hand.”

And my response:

A mother – with children grown
Is NOT – like a mother with children home.

She cannot tuck them in
She cannot read to them
She cannot wash their clothes
She cannot wipe their nose.

But she can wish, and hope and pray
That they’ll be safe and find their way
And though they’re off and on their own
Their hearts in hers will find a home.

 

 

Published by

kakingsbury

I started blogging in 2014 and learned just enough to get started on Wordpress before the block editor came along. I never got the hang of the new system and the struggle is real. If I didn't like poetry so much I probably wouldn't make the effort but every April I get the itch to participate in NAPOWRIMO - so here we go!

2 thoughts on “National Poetry Writing Month”

Leave a comment