Erasure Poem – NaPoWriMo 4/21

Today’s assignment is to take a page of prose and erase certain words to create your poem. I decided to find a book that had enough pages so that I could go to p.421 (get it?) I chose Donna Tartt’s The Goldfinch and since I’m having trouble scanning the page I’ll just provide the poem that emerged from the words I kept (which would look a lot better if it were spaced the way it should be on the page – but unfortunately doing that in WordPress is beyond my current skill set!)

Dark Gloom

gloomy

alone

scarred thumb

wrapped in padding

one dirty-nailed hand,

naked lady

home in bed with a hangover and a black eye

(Hmm.. wonder why people think The Goldfinch was such a dark novel!)

One thought on “Erasure Poem – NaPoWriMo 4/21

Leave a Reply

