Writing 101 – Day 4 – Photo Prompt

Here’s the Writing 101 Assignment for Day 4.

Yesterday, you found inspiration in one word and used it as a springboard for a post idea. Images — including photographs and works of art — can also act as starting points for stories, essays, poems, and personal musings. For this exercise, use one of the images above (not shown) as the creative spark for today’s post. You might use it as the setting for a story or poem, write about how it makes you feel, or describe a memory conjured by it.

I chose the picture below and wrote a short poem.

The Leap

The Leap

There is a space between the rise and fall,

the leap and the landing,

a space where you are free,

Suspended between what was and what is yet to be

Embrace the space!

The rare moments between the “musts” and “shoulds,”

A space where you can be.

By Kalen

13 thoughts on “Writing 101 – Day 4 – Photo Prompt

    1. Thanks Anne –
      I’m enjoying this new WordPress course – but I’ll be catching up on my other project this weekend.
      (I realize I’m falling farther and farther behind my goal of “one year a day.”)
      Kalen

      Like

    1. Thank you Anand –
      I’ve enjoyed your comments on other posts in the Commons and appreciate you taking the time to leave a comment for me. I look forward to reading your blog too.
      Kalen

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Leanne –
      I took your advice and added my name at the end of the poem. You are quite ambitious to be taking Blogging 101 and Writing 101 at the same time. I look forward to reading more of your posts – your takes on the photos were great!
      Kalen

      Like

      1. Oh no I did blogging 101 back in June! It was great. Was going to jump straight into writing but timing not good. Am enjoying it very much! Very glad you have put your name to your wonderful work!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

