NaBloPoMo – A Post a Day in November

I decided to try this instead of NaNoWriMo this year. I am also starting another WordPress Blogging U course tomorrow (Writing 101) so between NaBloPoMo and Writing 101, it should be easy to add at least one post a day. Certainly during the month of Thanksgiving I can come up with a few posts about what I’m grateful for. For example “I am grateful for the chance to win tickets to the Blog Her conference in LA next August.” Yep – I’m not going to lie – that was a motivating factor in me choosing NaBloPoMo over NaNoWriMo for the next 30 days.

By way of introduction since I’m likely to be meeting new readers – I began blogging in early 2014 for two primary reasons.

  1. I desperately wanted an outlet for my creative energy. Blogging was my way of coping with an empty nest and it was very effective in that regard. It relieved a lot of angst in my life and distracted me from being overly involved in my  son’s life at college – a good thing for both of us.
  2. I wanted to share my genealogical discoveries and capture the stories I was learning about my husband’s Italian immigrant ancestors. Most of those entries occur on my other blog Trovando Famiglia. I also wanted to share what I was learning about my ancestors, particularly my two northern grandfathers who lived in Washington DC after the end of the Civil War and my southern relatives, mostly from Virginia.

I’ve struggled a bit with how to maintain consistency in posting and content. Once you start exploring your family history – unless you put the blinders on and focus solely on direct lineal ancestors – it isn’t long before the posts start veering off into different people and topics. They’re all very interesting to me and other members of the family but probably not to the average reader.

So this month I’m going to work on including something that provides general genealogy research advice (drawing on my 3 years of experience – woo hoo!) and perhaps has broader appeal than Uncle Pasquale shooting his boss at the B&O railroad office and spending the rest of his life in State Hospital for the Criminally Insane or the adventures of family patriarch Adriano Giorgio leaving his wife and eight children in 1912 when members of the Black Hand Society were after him because he refused to give them a cut of the grocery store profits.

So one day down – 29 to go! Now I’m off to explore other NaBloPoMo posts and add the symbol to my sidebar. How auspicious – I just realized this is my 100th post!

6 thoughts on “NaBloPoMo – A Post a Day in November

    1. Thanks Jacqueline
      It was exciting to get to my 100th post! I appreciate blogging friends like you who I’ve met through WordPress courses.
      I’m still learning my way around BlogHer.
      Kalen

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Nice post! I have been blogging since 2005 but slacked off this year. I am hoping that doing NaBlo will get me back into the habit. I’m doing NaNo as well; this isn’t my first year for doing either, but it is the first in a while. A few months ago I started doing some genealogical research and got totally wrapped up in it. Had to back off for a while. I would really enjoy your posts about doing research, I’m sure. And I, for one, think that if you have more family stories like the two you cited in your post, you most definitely should post them — I will certainly read them!

    ~~ Lori

    Like

    1. Lori – Thanks so much for your comment. You are ambitious to do NaNo and NaBlo – I tried NaNo last year and got a good start but didn’t quite make it to the goal. Maybe next year.
      I completely understand how the genealogy research can take all your time – it’s so fascinating and complicated. I have had a lot of fun with it primarily because I found it at a good time in my life.
      Here’s the link to the story about poor Uncle Pasquale http://wp.me/p4tVZQ-66
      Thanks for reading my post – I look forward to reading yours.
      Kalen

      Like

Leave a Reply

