Eight Weeks Until 2016 Begins!

When health is absent

Wisdom cannot reveal itself,

Art cannot become manifest,

Strength cannot be exerted,

Wealth is useless, and

Reason is powerless.

  – Herophilies, 300 BC

For many years I was able to keep a calendar in my head. If Rick and I were discussing an upcoming event I’d say – “Oh, that’s a Thursday.” Rick was impressed and I never thought twice about my “good memory.”  Names, places, dates – I just tended to remember them.

Somewhere along the way (I noticed it when I began remembering things for two children in addition to for myself) the mental calendar wasn’t as accurate as it once was. Before long, I began to forget names. Not just the names of my co-workers children (I’m still pretty good at that) but names of new people I’m introduced to, sometimes within a few minutes after being introduced. (How embarrassing!) And as I mentioned in yesterday’s post – I occasionally schedule two things for the same day.  Not encouraging signs but part of the aging process I suppose.

“So what’s this got to do with the introductory quote on health.” you might be wondering.

I’ve always enjoyed “starting” something at the beginning of a week – usually a new and short-lived diet or exercise routine. About a year ago I started starting things on other significant dates. If January 1st was a Tuesday, I’d start new things on Tuesdays that year and I’d mentally note what week of the year I was starting on.  It didn’t make the new program any more successful than starting on a Monday but it was a mental exercise I enjoyed.

So what better day than Day 1 of the eighth week before the new year begins (which probably makes this the 44th week of 2015) to start a new exercise routine?!? Inspired by seeing a friend “RUNNING” early in the morning yesterday when I was on my way home from – let’s just say the donut shop – I realized it might be time for me to try Couch to 5K again.

Who knows maybe blogging about it will make me more accountable. By January 1st I should be able to run a 5K (not that I will, but theoretically I could). I started this morning with 25 minutes of walking interspersed with three 60 second jogs. Then I came home and did some exercises from Jorge Cruise’s Book – 8 minutes in the Morning – A simple way to shed up to 2 pounds a week – GUARANTEED (which of course guarantees nothing since the weight loss promise is qualified by “up to” even though the  2 POUNDS is cleverly written in bold and all caps.) It’s a sensible approach to eating and getting some all over body exercises done on a regular basis without a huge time commitment.

So there you have it – I’ve gone public with my goal – who knows – I might even blog about how its going. But for today I’ll just be happy that I’ve exercised and created my NaBloPoMo and Writing 101 posts before 9:00 a.m.

4 thoughts on “Eight Weeks Until 2016 Begins!

  1. Way to go Kalen! I’ve always believed that goals should be set at anytime, not just on Jan. 1. Good luck with your Couch to 5k and NaBloPoMo. You’ll do great!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Many thanks for sharing your thoughts with us. I agree that in the absence of health everything disappears.
    Best of Luck with your NaBloPoMo exercise 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

