Writing 101 – Day 7 – Let Social Media Inspire You

When I checked the assignment and the suggested quotes from Twitter a few days ago, nothing spoke to me. I checked again tonight and spent more time looking at other quotes on Twitter – again nothing.

This is our last night in Charleston South Carolina for what has been a wonderful mid-week getaway. It will be hard to go back to the routine of our work lives next week. We’re taking it easy in our hotel room tonight before our drive home tomorrow. My husband is a die-hard USC football fan (NOT the SC we’re in right now but the one on the West Coast) and the Trojans are playing Colorado tonight in a rare Friday night football game. (After struggling it looks like the Trojans are pulling ahead – whew!)

While Rick watches the game I’m catching up on my Writing 101 assignments. It was hard to concentrate with the TV on so I plugged earphones into my computer, logged on to Pandora and began listening to Christmas music. I LOVE Christmas music.

I am not usually very good at multi-tasking so this is quite an experience for me – reading the Writing 101 assignments on WordPress, listening to Pandora, watching TV (a bit) and writing. Surprisingly, the music is not interfering with my writing as much as I thought it might. It also provided inspiration for Day 7’s assignment. It’s from the lyrics to the song Believe from the movie – Polar Express – sung by Josh Groban. Watch and Listen Here

“Destinations . . . are where we begin again.”

I’ve always liked that line. You can always start anew – whether it’s a new career, a new relationship, or a new approach to something when the old one hasn’t worked – or even when it has. The end of one thing is the beginning of something else.

Believe in what you feel inside
And give your dreams the wings to fly
You have everything you need
If you just believe.

And for those of you who were kind enough to ask for a weekly update on my new exercise routine – I’m happy to report that at the end of a week – I’ve done my walk/run routine  – Couch to 5K workout – three times. I was planning to do it more than that but considering that it has been well over a year since I’ve done any regular exercise I’m satisfied. Thanks for asking.

7 thoughts on “Writing 101 – Day 7 – Let Social Media Inspire You

  1. I love how it’s November and you’re already listening to Christmas music. ‘Believe’ happens to be one of the staples on my playlist as well along with ‘Santa, can you hear me?’ and ‘Happy Xmas (The War Is Over)’. Do you have any other Christmas favorites?

    Like

    1. I have a friend I worked with a few years ago and she starts listening to Christmas music even earlier than I do (in October if you can believe that!) I have to be careful not to listen too much or else I burn out just when the holidays are reaching their peak. I love so many Christmas songs it is hard to pick a favorite.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

