Blogging 101 – Day 1

January 3, 2016 – Who I am and Why I’m Here

Have you ever heard the expression – “third time’s the charm?” I hope it’s true. This will be my third Blogging 101 class. I LOVE them. I always learn new things and since I’m one of those people who was happy when a new school year began, I was thrilled when I found Michelle’s email in my inbox tonight. I’d been in a bit of a funk trying to decide what to do with my last night of freedom, before returning to work tomorrow after five days away from the office. Completing our Day 1 assignment solved that dilemma.

You might think I’d have my – “who I am and why I’m here” post ready to cut and paste from a previous class. Well that wouldn’t be any fun! I am, at my core, certain things that never change – wife, mother, daughter, non-profit conservationist, hiker, nature lover, reader, writer and for the past two years, blogger.

But over the past few years I’ve begun to explore parts of myself that have not fully evolved, for whatever reason. My creativity, my spirit, who I am when I’m not being what other people want/need me to be. Blogging has been an important part of the discovery and the perfect platform to give voice and wings to those parts of myself that have been dormant for so long.

So I am a new blogger, but not a brand new blogger. I’m not a very disciplined person so the structure of a course helps me stay on track. I’m also of a certain age, when it’s harder than it used to be to remember how to do certain things – especially computer/internet/blogging things that I really want to get good at. Another reason to take advantage of Blogging 101.

Some of my blogging goals for 2016 are:
1. Explore a new format/theme for my blog.
2. Create pages to organize my posts.
3. Use more pictures to improve the visual appeal of my blog.
4. Create more focused content.
5. Develop a calendar to plan posts in advance and post on a regular basis.

6 thoughts on “Blogging 101 – Day 1

  1. I loved the way you phrased that …. of a certain age. I, too, am “of a certain age” and have lofty goals of learning all this before my mind jumbles it all up! Maybe we’ll figure this out. I’d just like to finish the course this time so I can learn some of this blogging techy stuff!
    betscc.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Betsy –
      Thanks for following my blog and leaving a comment. I’ve been doing this for almost two years now and as long as I don’t let too much time pass between posts I can usually keep up with the basics. I know there’s so much more I have to learn but it’s a fun process.
      Kalen

      Like

  2. I am also trying to find out who I am when I am not being what other people want/need me to be – blogging helps me too put my thoughts into words in a way that I never quite manage in real life. Gald to meet a fellow-explorer at Blogging 101.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have been looking at your blog posts and website for the past 20 minutes. I wish I could wake up tomorrow morning at your lovely home in rural France. I think we would enjoy a day together. Your reasons for blogging and the way it has changed are so similar to mine. I look forward to reading more of your posts in Blogging 101.
      Kalen

      Like

Leave a Reply

