Blogging 101 – Day 8 Be a Good Neighbor

Today’s assignment is to read other blogs and leave comments on at least four that you haven’t commented on before. It may well have been on this same assignment in a previous course that I met two of my best blogging buddies Peter and Anne.

Let’s be honest. The main reason for writing a blog is so that someone other than you will read it. I know, I know – I’ve seen lots of bloggers who “write because I’m compelled to write, write to sort out my tangled thoughts, write to make sense of myself, write to please myself or write to get better at writing.” I believe all of those things and I’ve probably posted each of them at some point in the past.

But blogging is about more than writing for yourself. Blogging is writing in an effort to connect with others (unless your blog is set to private.) I will celebrate my 2-year blogging anniversary at the end of February. I remember the early days of making a post at night and then taking it down the next morning because I wasn’t sure I wanted anyone to read it. Or setting my blog to private so I could write whatever I wanted to without anyone reading it. I struggled with whether or not my name should be in my blog title. I despaired when days went by without anyone “liking” my most recent post. Then if people “liked” something I posted, I wished they had left a comment.

At times I’ve wondered if it mattered whether I wrote or not – “who cares what I write about anyway?” I think those insecurities will always be there but that’s when my blogging buddies (and sometimes my husband who never comments on my posts but provides daily affirmation) remind me that at least three people want to read what I have to say, enjoy what I write and want me to keep at it.

For whatever it is worth to beginning bloggers (and believe me – I am no expert) all of your insecurities and doubts about the experience will change over time.

  • Do I still love the sound my phone makes when someone “likes” a post? You bet I do – I smile every time I hear it!
  • Do I still wish people would leave a comment rather than just “like” a post? Yes – absolutely – because that is how dialog begins and blogging buddies are born.
  • Do I still make a post then take it down? Nope – that hasn’t happened in a long time.
  • Does blogging make me a better writer? I hope so but I suppose only time will tell.
  • Do I worry about what other people will think about me based on something I post? Not really, but that may have more to do with me being 60 years old than with my growth as a blogger – there will be some people who get me and others who don’t.

Somewhere along the way I decided that I would post whatever I wanted and I wouldn’t worry about whether anyone liked it. And the corollary to that is that if I wasn’t comfortable with anyone in the world reading what I posted (i.e. think boss, mother, old boyfriend) I wouldn’t post it.  I decided I have to post regularly because when I don’t I forget how to do the most basic things that are part of blogging. And when I don’t post regularly I miss out on the chance to connect with others either by me finding something in their blog that speaks to me or someone else finding a post on my blog that speaks to them.

What I’ve learned in my almost two years of blogging is that there are more similarities than differences among people around the world. Sure – different languages, different cultures, different recipes and different lifestyles – but so many common themes of human compassion, story-telling, humor, creativity, significance of family, personal growth and a desire to be a better person. That is a very comforting discovery in these troubled times. It reaffirms my hope for humanity. That is also something that I would not appreciate if I didn’t blog.

I’m only halfway through today’s assignment and have left messages on two blogs
Isa’s Kitchen and Book Junkie. But I’ve looked at so many more and am reminded why I love blogging. It makes the world a bit smaller, it allows me to see the variety of interests that bloggers have and it connects me to places I may only be able to visit through the wonders of blogging. Thanks to everyone who makes these journeys possible.

#blogging, #blogging-101, #blogging-community, #commenting, #connecting-with-others, #creativity, #human-connections, #storytelling, #support, #wordpress-u

18 thoughts on “Blogging 101 – Day 8 Be a Good Neighbor

  1. Your blog was one of the first I followed, and it has been most rewarding. I enjoy your writing. You put into words what many people feel. I’m in an age bracket where I don’t cower before public opinion, either. I made it a rule from the start not to include last names, and that seems to have worked well. I’ve been asked to take down only one post.

    Keep up the blogging! I’ll be waiting for the next one.

    Thank you very much for mentioning my blog. What a kind friend you are!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you ,Thank you!! and Thank you for sharing this. When I started blogging last year ,i had a few or almost all this concerns, I remember whenever I write a new post i will send the link to all my friends and be disappointed that no one bothered to check it, but one year had pass ‘ It’s no longer a bother,( I want to believe) 😀 .The joy is that I have a voice , and someone somewhere someday,will care to listen.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. A lot of the things you said here resonated within me and with which I had similar experiences. Take my last story post for example ‘Terror in the School’. The teachers I mentioned passed away a long time ago. Yet, I felt compelled to truncate their names in order not hurt any feelings of their children and relatives. Another valuable point you made worth repeating is regularity. Have a schedule big or small and stick to it. By the way, thank you so much for mentioning my name in your post! It was very much appreciated.

    Like

    1. Peter – I very much appreciate your comments and encouragement ever since we met on the WordPress course you didn’t take! I also enjoy your approach to telling your family story and the pictures you share of the beautiful place you live.

      Like

    1. Thanks that is what I was trying to convey. To be sure I have plenty of insecurities – I think that’s the risk you take when you share parts of yourself with others. But it’s worth it.

      Like

  4. i also loved being read but at times i’m just happy that someone liked or left a comment. i love writing more than anything and blogging is a way to find buddies share with others. my blog is going to be 3 on may but for instance i felt so alone the first year that i published just 5 or 8 posts. 1 year passed and as i recieved a notification someone actually followed my blog i came back, it was on may 2015 i think! Since then i have been posting every now and then . i love blogging but every comment level up my motivation to write more. besides i did not want my friends to be aware of blog ‘cuz i was afraid of judgement and til today just a little know about it. and i love to meet new people

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree – knowing that others are reading what I write does encourage me to write more. Not many of my friends follow my blog either – I understand your concerns.

      Like

Leave a Reply

