L is for the Liberty Antiques Festival

laf signLiberty is a small town about 21 miles southeast of Greensboro, NC surrounded by farms and fields. It anchors the north eastern end of Piedmont Land Conservancy’s Liberty-Randleman farmland corridor, an effort started 17 years ago to protect more than 500 contiguous acres farmland before growth and development intervened. Many of the farms in the area were protected by the landowners’ generous donation of their development rights. Other than some federal and state conservation tax benefits, the landowners received nothing in return for giving up the development rights to their land. They wanted to insure that the way of life they’d grown up with would continue to exist for their grandchildren’s grandchildren.

Long before I started working for a land conservation organization whose mission is to preserve farmland, I valued the ability to drive through farmland within just a few minutes of leaving my suburban neighborhood. There is something restorative about driving through green pastures, crops in the fields and livestock grazing. So every year, when I read about the Liberty Antiques Festival  I’ve thought, maybe this year I’ll go. Even though it is held twice a year, in April and October, it tends to fall on a weekend when there’s a lot going on. April and October are busy months for me at work and home.

LibertyAntiquesFestivalThis year the festival will be held on Friday and Saturday, April 29th and 30th. As with past years, I have a conflict for Saturday – camping with my Girls Scout troop. But just maybe, I’ll find a way to scoot down there on Friday. Maybe this will be the year I finally get there.

One thought on “L is for the Liberty Antiques Festival

Leave a Reply

