Meeting a Kingsbury Cousin in 10 Days!

Never underestimate the power of social media and blogging to connect you to your relatives. About six weeks ago I got an email from Marcia Moore who discovered The Family Letter Blog in a Google search for the Kingsbury Family.

Marcia lives in California and I recognized her name as Josephine Kingsbury Moore’s daughter. I’ve spent a lot of time reading my grandfather Kingsbury’s contribution to the family letter that made its way across the country for decades during the mid-1900s. It was the primary way that the five Kingsbury brothers who had grown up in Osage Iowa at the end of the 19th century and early 20th century kept in touch with each other once they’d moved away and started families of their own.

Josephine’s father Frank Kingsbury was the brother who stayed in Iowa and worked in the family hardware store with his father, Wayland Briggs Kingsbury. Here’s a brief article from the Omaha World Herald from June 3, 1951 announcing the sale of the hardware store in Osage. I have a much better one from the Osage, IA paper with a picture of Frank that I’ll add as soon as I find it.

SaleofStore.3June1951

Long before my current interest in family history I wanted to meet Josephine. Somehow I knew that my grandfather thought very highly of her and since she was living in Carson City Nevada when I was living in southern California it seemed reasonable to think we might get together. For the brief time in the mid-1990s that I was in the family letter loop we even talked about the possibility of a family reunion. Maybe some day.

So even though I didn’t get to meet Josephine, I’m happy that I will get to meet her daughter Marcia when she visits Charlotte NC for her great nephew’s high school graduation next weekend.

You can see what my grandfather wrote about his niece Josephine and her family when he spent Thanksgiving in Osage Iowa 50 years ago by checking today’s post on The Family Letter Blog.

 

One thought on “Meeting a Kingsbury Cousin in 10 Days!

Leave a Reply

