Day Five – NaPoWriMo – A Nature Poem

No poem yet but I’m posting the prompt with the link for today’s poet interview. Mary Oliver is one of  my favorite poets. I can’t wait to read the interview.

I’ll let today’s prompt rattle around in my mind while I go about my daily work, which happens to include a visit to a farm. I wrote about this farm last April for the A to Z challenge.

“Our interviewee today is Mary Oliver, as rather incongruously, to my mind, interviewed by Maria Shriver. I won’t bother to conceal from you the fact that I chose this interview in part for the picture, in which Ms. Oliver appears to be a tiny, birdlike gnome in contrast to the Amazonian Shriver. Be that as it may, Oliver is one of America’s most popular contemporary poets, known for plainspeaking poems that focus on the natural world. You can read more about Oliver here, and read some of her poems here.

Last but not least, here is our prompt for Day Five (as always, the prompt is optional). In honor of Mary Oliver’s work, I’d like to challenge you to write a poem that is based in the natural world: it could be about a particular plant, animal, or a particular landscape. But it should be about a slice of the natural world that you have personally experienced and optimally, one that you have experienced often. Try to incorporate specific details while also stating why you find the chosen place or plant/animal meaningful.”

Here’s the link to Napowrimo’s post for today, which is copied in part above.

 

Leave a Reply

