VA-cation!

One more day of work and then I’m on a four day vacation. At the ridiculous hour of 3:30 a.m. on Wednesday March 21st – my sweet husband drives me to the downtown depot in Greensboro NC where I take an Amtrak train to Charlottesville VA for the #vabookfestival.

Reason for the train instead of driving? Sweet husband will drive up and join me on Thursday evening but being the dedicated high school teacher that he is, he can’t afford to miss more than one day of school (even though he has almost a year of vacation accumulated) because, well, did I mention, he’s dedicated?

I’m looking forward to having a couple of days on my own and going by train. I love attending book festivals and the Virginia Festival of the Book is my favorite.  For one thing, it has something for everyone. Such a variety of authors and talks – from civil war history to poetry; farmers and chefs to weather experts, not to mention useful talks about writing and the publishing industry.

Secondly, I love that it begins on or near the first day of Spring – my favorite season. I don’t love that 3 to 5 inches of snow are predicted for Charlottesville on Wednesday but I’m planning to wear my boots and make the best of it.

If you’d like to experience the festival vicariously through my posts- be sure to check back to this blog over the next week. This will be my fourth year attending the #vabookfestival. I’ve been with friends from work, book club friends  and my husband. This year I’m going to meet my cousin who I haven’t seen in 25 years. How cool is that?!? She recently moved to VA and will meet me on Wednesday. Coincidentally we reconnected a couple of years ago when we both began blogging!

 

Published by

kakingsbury

I started blogging in 2014 and learned just enough to get started on Wordpress before the block editor came along. I never got the hang of the new system and the struggle is real. If I didn't like poetry so much I probably wouldn't make the effort but every April I get the itch to participate in NAPOWRIMO - so here we go!

6 thoughts on “VA-cation!”

      1. We love snow – especially because it doesn’t happen that often but I agree – it’s a little late now for Mother Nature’s shenanigans.

        Like

Leave a comment